A South African Thanksgiving


We are sooo excited! We’ll be hosting our very first South African ThPlanning a South African Thanksgivinganksgiving this year all in honor of my lovely American sister-in-law.  (Or maybe it should be American-African?)

Yes, they’ve decided to live in South Africa for a while and we are THRILLED. We’ve never thought of Thanksgiving before. Now the challenge is it is super HOT in South Africa at the moment and we don’t usually eat turkeys :-). We have found a store where we can buy them. We thought that we’d “adapt” the traditional Thanksgiving dishes to the South African climate but still keep it as authentic as possible.

At our celebrations we usually braai, eat watermelon, koeksisters and melktert. We do have a form of pumpkin pie though.

This is where YOU come in. Please share your ideas/recipes/ what Thanksgiving means to you. We would appreciate anything and everything from recipes to decorating ideas.
Please join us on our journey. You can do so in the following ways:

I would like to publish a post every Wednesday with our progress and I’d like to include your links to share with our readers.

To read how much we’ve planned up to now please click here.

 

11 thoughts on “A South African Thanksgiving

  1. Chrissy says:

    Wow, so glad I came across your blog! Are you from South Africa or did you decide to move there one day? I will have to look further back to read more about your life!
    I bet it’s a challenge trying to keep such a tradition when it’s so hot outside. I remember Christmas time when we lived in Alabama – baking cookies was a challenge in the heat.
    Hoping you can find lots of recipes you can adapt to your lifestyle!
    Glad to meet you!
    Chrissy xxx

    Like

  2. whimsipoppy says:

    Wow, so glad I came across your blog! Are you from South Africa or did you decide to move there one day? I will have to look further back to read more about your life!
    I bet it’s a challenge trying to keep such a tradition when it’s so hot outside. I remember Christmas time when we lived in Alabama – baking cookies was a challenge in the heat.
    Hoping you can find lots of recipes you can adapt to your lifestyle!
    Glad to meet you!
    Chrissy xxx

    Like

  3. Kim Zimmerman says:

    Love your blog–the photos bring me there! Here in NY, we’ve had the pleasure of becoming friends with a homeschooling family from Zimbabwe (the mother is South African). I enjoy their refreshing and forthright perspective on American life.
    Our Thanksgiving dinner will include a turkey for meat eaters, an alternative dish for my daughter and me (the vegetarians in the family), gravy, mashed potatoes and sweet potatoes, a tossed green salad, cranberry sauce, and a few pies, pumpkin pie being the most important.

    Like

  4. clskopec says:

    Hi Amanda,
    I’m interested in writing a story about people celebrating Thanksgiving abroad. Would you be willing to answer some questions about your upcoming celebration for me? I’d love to hear about your plans! You can email me when you get a chance: clskopec@gmail.com. Hope to hear from you soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

