Culture?


What does that mean? Recently a post made it’s way around cyber space that was written by an American lady living in South Africa. You can find it here and I strongly suggest that you read it alongside this post.  That post inspired this post.

You see I love my  culture and language. That doesn’t mean that I don’t like other cultures. It is just a fact I enjoy braaivleis and I enjoy melktert and most of all I enjoy speaking Afrikaans. Don’t even talk about a lekker kuier in Afrikaans. (a very nice visit-this term is untranslatable I’m afraid-come to South Africa and we’ll show you.) I am an Afrikaans teacher and I even have a blog dedicated to the teaching of Afrikaans. I love the diversity of South Africa and I even grew up in a homeland and can speak English, Afrikaans, Setswana and a bit of Xhosa and Zulu.

I believe that everyone is equal before God and He created everyone. This post is to thank Annie Erickson for her letter. I know of a lot of Afrikaans people that needed to read it.

2 thoughts on “Culture?

  1. debrajan1517 says:

    Americans believe they are the best – as you well know. We do have accomplishments that we should be proud of, but one thing do not do well is respect those not like us. Like we have the ticket on what is normal – crazy that we should feel that way when we have so many problems and issues within our border that we can’t even talk about together. I love that you love where you teach. I love that you love this new country. Wouldn’t it be lovely if we all had to leave American and serve in another country for a time period – what a vastly different place this place would be.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Barbara says:

    Love reading your post…I have lived in only two other “cultures”; France (I was really too young to remember much of the culture); and Germany – twice. We, as Americans, have our problems and issues for sure. And as an American in Germany, I can remember folks being VERY suspicious of us when we entered their stores…but then, there are those who were friendly; became our friends; are still our friends.

    I love reading and learning about other cultures. I am very open and welcoming and accepting of others – cultures, religions, life-styles…for who am I to say which is the “best” of this or that!!

    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

